Marvin came to Jaco beginning of November as an addition to our team of project managers. The Kansas native brings over 38 years of experience in the construction industry under his belt and a great personality. He’s answered one of our most interesting questionnaires so far—take a peek below!

What is a fun or interesting fact about your hometown?

My home town is Edna, KS. It is a small farming community with less than 500 people. It had an old grain elevator made out of wood, not concrete. It always looked like it could fall down at any time, but stood until 2010. I have a framed painting of it. 

How many different states have you lived in?

Not counting construction jobs, I have always lived in KS, but if you consider the 7 years working on the road, I have lived in 15 or more states. 

What animal do you think most closely matches your personality?

Dog. 

If you could choose one age to be forever, what age would it be and why?

50 experienced enough and secure enough to know the best way to live, still young enough to enjoy living. 

What are three items you’d take with you to a deserted island?

Knife, gun and a big boat! 

What’s your favorite famous or inspirational quote?

My grandfather once told me to “always take warm clothes, you never know when the weather is going to change”

What’s your favorite sports team?

KC Chiefs.

If you could only eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Steak, baked potato, with everything on it. Of course my life would be much shorter! 

What’s your favorite hobby?

Tie, golf and boating. 

What’s the farthest you’ve ever been from home?

Hawaii. 

Name one thing you’re willing to spend more money on to make sure you get the best quality.

Mattress. 

What’s the best thing that has happened to you so far this week?

Started new career at Jaco!!

If you could live in any city, where would it be and why?

Charleston, SC for the history, warm climate and ocean. Plus there is always King Street! 

If you could change something in the world, what would it be?

Make every country have a free society where the people can strive for success. 

What did you want to be when you grew up when you were in elementary school?

Baseball player.

Where was your first job?

My first job was hauling hay on the farm and for neighbors. 

What motivates you?

Building something that you can point to and say I helped build that. 

How do you wind down after work?

Sit on the porch with a drink. 

What’s something that has surprised you about your chosen career path?  

Technology changes. I was in construction before pagers were available! 

What is your favorite thing to do when you’re not working?

Outdoor activities.

What job would you be terrible at?

Health care. It takes a special type of person to give care to people they don’t know. 

What’s a topic you wish you knew more about?

Classic cars.

Are you more productive in the mornings, afternoons or evenings? Why?
I think mornings, but when the day is about over and I still have a lot to do, I seem to find another gear. 

Have you ever had to “unlearn” something in your professional life?

Yes, certain construction methods that are obsolete.  

How do you describe what you do for a living to family and friends?

Sit in the office and push a pencil.  

What’s the best piece of professional advice you’ve ever received?

Owners will always complain about the cost, but will always return for the quality!